Work on SPACE: 1977 continues at The Ruins of Murkhill

screen-shot-2016-10-27-at-2-09-59-pm

Back in August I posted about a project at The Ruins of Murkhill, an OSR focused forum. The group had decided to make a Traveller subsector using the rules from the 1977 edition of the Little Black Books (1-3).

Here are all the threads on the project.

Here is the list of the subsector’s data.

And here is the subsector done up using the Traveller Map Poster Maker.

I haven’t had a chance to look at the work yet. But what I’m particularly excited about is that because many hands are working on one subsector, there should be a different feeling for the worlds across the man. In original Traveller, each world was a unique setting with its own feel. I look forward to seeing how that plays out here.

2 thoughts on “Work on SPACE: 1977 continues at The Ruins of Murkhill

  1. This looks pretty interesting. At a recent session I showed one group of players the sorts of resources on the web for generating things traveller, and they were quite interested in having a go at making a world, or a map, or spaceships, etc. Since I have two separate groups of rpg friends, it just occurred to me that each could do a similar thing to provide some nice variations for the other group to game in. If we all had the time, of course 8-). But that idea to really give some strangeness and twist to a game world because people do create differently is a good one.

  2. Thank you for the plug. Ideally, I would have liked a different person for each world, but we took what we could get. I think the planet descriptions are just enough to give you some hooks, but leave you free to develop on your own

Leave a comment